Wednesday, 2016-08-31

Scheduled Maintenance: Infrastructure Upgrades, Downtime Planned, scheduled 3 years ago

Date & Time: Wednesday Aug 31, 10pm Pacific; Thursday Sept 1, 1am Eastern, Thursday Sept 1, 6am London. EveryTimezone.com

Duration: 15 minutes

Downtime: 5-10 minutes of downtime is expected.

Purpose: Upgrading to our primary caching system.

Additional Information: This change will move our Redis from utility servers in our environment to AWS ElastiCache. This has many benefits, including improved performance and redundancy. In the event of a problem, we will fail back to our old environment, with no loss of data. The actual migration of data will only take a few minutes, but we are adding a bit extra on our window to perform some tests and ensure things are as they should be.

During the downtime, requests to *.foxycart.com and our users' custom subdomains will respond with a 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable, and a Retry-After header counting down to the scheduled maintenance window's close.

Resolution: We completed the migration in 3 minutes, and brought services back online at 10:03pm Pacific, 6:03am London.